September 2006


We’re here live at Microsoft’s premiere European promotional event, scheduled to start at 7 PM Barcelona time (1 PM Eastern, 10 AM Pacific). Continue reading and keep refreshing for all the announcements and updates straight from Microsoft.

(full story)


After some mistaken information about start times and a few false starts around the internet, it looks like Nintendo’s Japanese press conference is actually set to start at 2 p.m. Japan time (1 a.m. Eastern time, 10 p.m. Pacific time, 0500 GMT). Though Joystiq doesn’t have anyone on the ground in Tokyo, we’re working to attain the best feed and translation services available for the event. We do plan to cover any big news from the conference by monitoring a purported live online feed, with translation services provided by ittousai of Engadget Japan. If that doesn’t work, we’ll monitor our sources into the night to bring you this information as soon as it’s available.

(full story)


People used to playing online Hearts and Spades on their computers might be interested to know that competitive card games are making headway on the Xbox Live Arcade. Two recent releases, Uno and Texas Hold ‘Em Poker, show the promise of the system for online card games, despite some flaws in presentation and game design.

 
(full article)